National Newspaper Association

Protecting, Promoting and Enhancing Community Newspapers Since 1885

Login Your Cart

Contests & Awards

Amos and McKinney Awards

Recognized as one of the highest and most distinguished tributes in community journalism, the Amos and McKinney Awards are presented to a working or retired newspaperman and woman who have provided distinguished service and leadership to the community press and their community.


Newspaper And Education contest

The National Newspaper Association recognizes strong newspapers and strong educational programs go hand in hand. This contest is now part of the Better Newspaper Contest. To see past winners, click the link above.


Better Newspaper Contest

Each year, the National Newspaper Association honors the best in community journalism and advertising in the Better Newspaper Editorial Contest (BNEC) and Better Newspaper Advertising Contest (BNAC). Together, the BNEC and BNAC comprise the Better Newspaper Contest.

Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award

The National Newspaper Association established this award in 2007 to honor Daniel Morris “Dan” Phillips, an award-winning writer and photographer who passed away in 2005 at the age of 47.



2016 BNA & BNA contests are open!

2015 BNEC & BNAC Overview Entries came fr om 36 states; 158 newspapers sent in a total of 1,696 entries; and 149 newspapers were selected as winners and received a total of 521 awards. NAE Fun Facts ...

Read more

NNA 2015 newspaper contest winners announced

Jul 9, 2015

Judging results have been processed and winners of the 2015 Better Newspaper Contest and Better Newspaper Advertising Contest have been posted online here.

Read more

Web Design and Web Development by Buildable